.::| Osun State College of Technology, Esa-Oke | Rector's Welcome Address |::.

Welcome Address

Matriculation Day

Let me, on behalf of the Chairman Governing Council, Professor Layi Fagbenle, other council members, Management, Staff and Students, welcome you all to Osun State College of Technology, Esa-Oke website on www.oscotechesaoke.edu.ng.

You will recall that the former Rector of this institution formally retired from service on 24th July, 2017 after attaining the mandatory sixty five (65) years of age. He handed over to me on Tuesday 24th July, 2017 as the Ag. Rector in compliance with the approval of the Governing Council of the College.

Osun State College of Technology Esa-Oke, a Satellite Campus of The Polytechnic, Ibadan became autonomous with the signing of the edict into law on October 12, 1992 by the First Civilian Governor of the State, Late Alhaji Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke.

The Pioneer Rector, Professor Olu Odeyemi assumed duty on January 3rd 1993 with other Pioneer Staff of the College from The Polytechnic Ibadan. On completion of his two terms in office, he handed over to the then Deputy Rector Engineer A. O. Oke as Ag. Rector who was in that capacity from 2001 to 2002. Professor S. Iyi Ojo assumed duty from January 2002 to 2004 while Engr. M.A.F.Esho was the Rector from 2004 to 11th January 2012 when Engr. Dr. A. Oluyemi . Oke was again re-appointed as the Ag. Rector and later confirmed as Rector on July 24th 2013. He was the Rector up to July 24th 2017, when he finally handed the affairs of the college to me.

I welcome you all to a new chapter in the history of Osun State College of Technology Esa-Oke. I will like to also commend the effort of my immediate predecessor, Engr. Dr. Augustus Oluyemi Oke for putting the College on the fast lane during his tenure from 2012 to 2017 and I want to assure you that as the Ag. Rector, I will do my best to consolidate on the land mark achievements and also improve on others as the case may be with the help of the Almighty God.

The College presently has four faculties: Applied Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Studies and Management Science. We also have about 17 departments with over 23 programmes fully accredited by the National Board for Technical Education, Kaduna and all relevant professional bodies. The departments and courses approved at both ND and HND levels are:

  • Department of Accountancy, ND & HND levels
  • Department Banking & Finance ND & HND levels
  • Department Business Admin and Management ND & HND levels
  • Department of Science Laboratory Technology, (SLT) ND with HND in the following options: Applied Chemistry Option, Microbiology Option and Physics with Electronics options.
  • Department of Maths/Statistics – ND & HND
  • Department of Computer Science – ND & HND
  • Civil Engineering – ND & HND
  • Mechanical Engineering – ND & HND
  • Electrical/Electronics – ND & HND
  • HND Telecommunication option
  • Mechatronics Engineering – ND
  • Surveying & Geo-informatics – ND & HND
  • Quantity Surveying – ND & HND
  • Estate Management – ND & HND
  • Urban & Regional Planning – ND & HND and Post-Graduate Diploma in Urban & Regional Planning
  • Building Technology – ND & HND
  • Architectural Technology – ND & HND
  • All the above programmes are also available at the Daily Part-Time at the ND and HND levels.

We also run a part-time programme on weekend basis at the main campus in compliance with the directive of the National Board for Technical Education, Kaduna.

I will like to inform you that by the grace of God, with the support of Council members and management, we hope to introduce more programmes to the College very soon.

Also, in order to reduce the stress of most of our prospective students for part-time programme, we have applied for approval of National Board for Technical Education to start Open Distance Flexible Learning and On-Line Programme and we are going to finalize the modalities for its implementation as soon as the approval is secured.

The College presently is having collaboration agreement with some universities abroad and at home to further enhance the quality of our graduates.

The institutions are:

  • University of Sussex, United Kingdom
  • University of North Texas, USA
  • London South University, U.K
  • Federal University of Technology, Oye

We are looking forward to collaborating with more institutions both at home and abroad in the nearest future.

Our admission for the 2017/2018 academic session is ongoing. All prospective students are advised to get in touch with the College Admission Office for further details, or log on to www.oscotechesaoke.edu.ng.

Once again, I welcome you to the beacon of hope of Technological innovation in Nigeria, Osun State College of Technology, Esa-Oke.

Thank you all and God bless.

Rector, Osun State College of Technology Esa-Oke.

Apply Now

Back to Top